Le Impact

Read this in:

Les Partenaires de programme MIFUMI (Ouganda) Tout en travaillant avec les femmes et les filles qui souffrent de la violence sexiste, il n'est pas rare pour les femmes de nier ou de tenter de minimiser la gravité de leurs blessures. Par exemple, les filles / femmes disant  «Je me suis frappé contre un mur dans le noir» quand, en réalité, elle a été battue. MIFUMI a joué un rôle clé dans la sensibilisation de la communauté à travers la radio. Ils soulignent la nécessité de parler ouvertement de la violence parce qu’une telle franchise peut réduire la stigmatisation. En outre, le projet «Sure Start» géré par les trains MIFUMI forme les enseignants, le personnel médical et les autres responsables de district tels que les agents de probation pour identifier et résoudre les problèmes de la violence sexiste, même lorsque la victime cache la réalité. Un succès a également été obtenu en ayant un réseau de références à travers le réseau des enfants acteurs du district de Tororo et les centres de conseil spécifiques pour les femmes et les filles de MIFUMI.

Quand une femme subit la violence sexiste, l'impact physique et émotionnel est durable et s'infiltre dans toutes les sphères de la vie d'une femme. Les victimes d’abus sexuels et les victimes de viol présentent une variété de symptômes créés par le traumatisme, comme la perturbation du sommeil et les troubles digestifs, la dépression, le sentiment d'humiliation, de colère et le blâme de soi, la peur du rapport sexuel, et une incapacité à se concentrer. 7

Au-delà du traumatisme émotionnel, la violence sexiste peut entraîner des blessures physiques, la contraction d’infections sexuellement transmissibles, y compris le VIH, une interruption des fonctions sexuelles et reproductives des capacités, des grossesses non désirées et même la mort.

En raison de la sensibilité du sujet, la violence contre les femmes est universellement ignorée. 8  Ce qui aggrave la dévastation personnelle, c'est la réalité que ce type de violence est souvent couverte de secret, interdisant aux femmes d'accéder aux ressources juridiques et médicales dont elles ont besoin pour survivre. Les survivantes de la violence sexiste ont souvent honte, un instinct pour protéger l'unité familiale et les allégeances contradictoires, ce qui rend le problème difficile à discuter. Il n'est pas rare pour les femmes d'être blâmées pour leur propre viol et d'être considérées comme de déshonneur pour leurs familles. Au-delà de cette réticence, dans de nombreuses régions du monde, rapporter un acte de violence des rapports peut mener à plus de violence pour les femmes, laissées à la merci  aux mains de la police, des autorités et des auteurs. La crainte de représailles empêche les femmes de chercher l’aide juridique nécessaire, les services médicaux et le conseil dont elles ont besoin, poursuivant ainsi un cycle de dévastation. Les crimes d'honneur sont également assez fréquents. Dans certains pays, l'honneur familial repose sur le comportement des femmes.

 Le coût

Considérer l'impact négatif de la VS sur l'individu et sa famille, et multipliez-le par un milliard.  Le résultat est catastrophique à l’échelle mondiale et régionale et constitue un frein majeur au développement mondial. En drainant l'énergie des femmes, en altérant leur confiance, en compromettant leur santé, la violence sexiste prive la société de la pleine participation des femmes. Comme les femmes de l'ONU (anciennement UNIFEM) l’ont affirmé, «Les femmes ne peuvent pas accomplir leur travail et  leurs idées créatives si elles sont accablées par les cicatrices physiques et psychologiques de la violence".9

La santé publique et l’économie

La violence sexiste constitue des coûts exorbitants pour les économies des pays en développement et l'individu, y compris une plus faible productivité des travailleurs et des revenus, la baisse des taux d'accumulation du capital humain et social, et la génération d'autres formes de violence à la fois maintenant et dans le futur.  La violence sexiste constitue aussi un fardeau lourd sur la santé publique. Les femmes qui subissent la violence sexiste sont susceptibles d'avoir un besoin d’attention médicale en matière de traitement physique et émotionnel. 10 Elles sont aussi plus exposées à l'expérience de la mortalité maternelle, des grossesses non désirées et sont plus susceptibles de contracter des maladies sexuellement transmissibles, y compris le VIH / SIDA. A cause de son impact sur le comportement sexuel et l’usage de la drogue dans le futur, les abus sexuels dans l'enfance semble également augmenter le risque de 11 d'un individu à contracter les MST et le VIH à l’âge adulte.  12

L'impact économique de la violence sexiste peut être compris à la fois en termes d'argent dépensé sur les services, ainsi qu'une perte de productivité par les femmes et les membres de leur famille qui ont été affectés. L'argent dépensé sur les services médicaux, juridiques et sociaux de l'argent et de l’argent dépensé nulle part ailleurs dans les économies nationales - y compris la nourriture et l'éducation - des éléments essentiels à la réduction de la pauvreté.  Les compromis aux contributions économiques individuelles dues à la violence sexiste viennent souvent sous la forme de perte d'emploi, de productivité de l'agresseur à cause de l'incarcération, et la perte de recettes fiscales due à la mort et l'incarcération.

Pour les survivantes, la blessure physique et le traumatisme psychologique ont des conséquences à long terme sur l'éducation.  La dépression sévère, le stigmate et l'isolement ont souvent un impact négatif sur les performances éducatives ou amènent  les jeunes filles à abandonner tout court. Dans les cas de la violence à l’échelle communautaire et étatique,  la menace posée par la violence dans l'espace public peut rendre les parents réticents à permettre aux filles de prendre le chemin de l’école.

Footnotes: 

7 . Koss, M. (1990).The women's mental health research agenda: violence against women. American Psychologist, 45: 374-380 Retrieved from http://www.scielo.br/scielo.php?pid=S0102-311X1994000500009&script=sci_a...

8 . Koss, MP, The under-detection of rape: methodological choices influence incidence estimates, J. Soc. Issues, 1992, Vol. 48, p61-75

9 . Bunch, C. and Carrillo, R. (1992). Gender Violence: A Development and Human Rights Issue, Atti Press, Dublin.

10 . Retrieved from http://www.unfpa.org/webdav/site/global/shared/documents/publications/20...

11 . Bensley LS, Van Eenwyk J, Simmons KW, “Self-reported childhood sexual and physical abuse and adult HIV risk behaviours and heavy drinking”, Am J. Prev. Med. 2000, 18(2), 151-8. The report concluded that “one third to one half of those reporting HIV-risk behaviours in a general-population survey also reported childhood abuse”.

12 . Boyer & Fine, 1992; Zierler et al., 1991; Finkelhor, 1987; Cassese, 1993; Paone & Chavkin, 1993

13 . Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Costs of intimate partner violence against women in the United States. Atlanta (GA): CDC, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control; 2003. Retrieved from http://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/IPVBook-a.pdf

The Impact | Women Win Guides

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

The Impact

Read this in:

Programme Partner MIFUMI (Uganda)

While working with women and girls suffering from GBV, it is not unusual for women to deny or attempt to minimise the severity of their injury. For example, girls/women saying 'I knocked myself against a wall in the dark' when, in actuality, she was beaten. MIFUMI has taken a key role in sensitising the community through the radio. They stress the need to be open about violence because such candidness can reduce the stigma. In addition, the 'Sure Start' project run by MIFUMI trains the teachers, medical personnel and other district leaders such as probation officers to identify and address problems of GBV even when the victim is hiding the reality. Success has also been achieved in having a referral network through the Tororo district Child Actors Network and the MIFUMI-specific advice centres for women and girls.

When a woman experiences gender-based violence, the physical and emotional impact is lasting and seeps into every sphere of a woman’s life. Sexual abuse and rape survivors exhibit a variety of trauma-induced symptoms including sleep and eating disturbances, depression, feelings of humiliation, anger and self blame, fear of sex, and an inability to concentrate. 7

Beyond the emotional trauma, GBV can result in physical injuries, contraction of sexual transmitted infections, including HIV, interruptions to sexual health and reproductive abilities, unwanted pregnancies and even death.

Due to the sensitivity of the subject, violence against women is universally under-reported. 8  Compounding the personal devastation, is the reality that this type of violence is often shrouded in secrecy, prohibiting women from accessing the legal and medical resources they need to cope.Survivors of GBV often feel shame, an instinct to protect the family unit and conflicting allegiances, which makes discussing the problem difficult. It is not uncommon for women to be blamed for their own rape and to be considered as bringing dishonour to their families. Beyond this reluctance, in many regions of the world, reporting violence can lead to more violence for women, at the hands of police, officials and perpetrators. The fear of retribution further inhibits women in seeking needed legal help, medical services and counselling, thereby continuing a cycle of devastation. Honour killings are also quite common. In some countries family honour is dependent on the behaviour of women.

The Cost

Consider the negative impact GBV has on the individual and her family, and multiply it by a billion. The result is catastrophic across global and regional sectors and a major inhibitor to global development.  By sapping women's energy, undermining their confidence, and compromising their health, gender-based violence deprives society of women's full participation. As the U.N. Women (formerly UNIFEM) observed, "Women cannot lend their labour or creative ideas fully if they are burdened with the physical and psychological scars of abuse". 9

Public Health and Economics

Gender-based violence poses significant costs for the economies of developing countries and the individual, including lower worker productivity and incomes, lower rates of accumulation of human and social capital, and the generation of other forms of violence both now and in the future. GBV also puts an undue burden on public health. Women who experience GBV are likely to have an increased need for health services dealing with physical and emotional treatment. 10 They are also more inclined to experience maternal mortality, unwanted pregnancies and more likely to contract sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV/AIDS. Through its impact on future sexual and drug using behaviour, sexual abuse in childhood also appears to 11 increase an individual's risk of contracting STDs and HIV in adulthood. 12

The economic impact of GBV can be understood both in terms of money spent on services, as well as a loss in productivity by women and their family members who have been impacted. Money spent on medical, legal and social services is money not being spent elsewhere in national economies – including food and education – critical components to alleviation of poverty. Compromises to individual economic contributions due to GBV often come in the form of job loss, lost productivity of the abuser due to incarceration, and loss of tax revenues due to death and incarceration.

For survivors, the physical injury and psychological trauma has long-term consequences on education. Acute depression, stigma and isolation often have a negative impact on educational performance or lead to girls dropping out of school all together.  In cases of community and state violence, the threat posed by violence in public space can make parents unwilling to allow girls to make the journey to school.

Footnotes: 

7 . Koss, M. (1990).The women's mental health research agenda: violence against women. American Psychologist, 45: 374-380 Retrieved from http://www.scielo.br/scielo.php?pid=S0102-311X1994000500009&script=sci_a...

8 . Koss, MP, The under-detection of rape: methodological choices influence incidence estimates, J. Soc. Issues, 1992, Vol. 48, p61-75

9 . Bunch, C. and Carrillo, R. (1992). Gender Violence: A Development and Human Rights Issue, Atti Press, Dublin.

10 . Retrieved from http://www.unfpa.org/webdav/site/global/shared/documents/publications/20...

11 . Bensley LS, Van Eenwyk J, Simmons KW, “Self-reported childhood sexual and physical abuse and adult HIV risk behaviours and heavy drinking”, Am J. Prev. Med. 2000, 18(2), 151-8. The report concluded that “one third to one half of those reporting HIV-risk behaviours in a general-population survey also reported childhood abuse”.

12 . Boyer & Fine, 1992; Zierler et al., 1991; Finkelhor, 1987; Cassese, 1993; Paone & Chavkin, 1993

13 . Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Costs of intimate partner violence against women in the United States. Atlanta (GA): CDC, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control; 2003. Retrieved from http://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/IPVBook-a.pdf

The Impact | Women Win Guides

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.