Les Racines du pouvoir, du genre et de la violence

Read this in:

Selon la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur l'élimination de la violence contre les femmes (1993), La violence contre les femmes est une manifestation de rapports de force historiquement inégaux entre hommes et femmes, qui a abouti à la domination et de discrimination contre les femmes par les hommes et à la prévention de l’émancipation  des femmes, et que la violence contre les femmes est l'un des mécanismes sociaux par lesquels les femmes sont forcées dans une position subordonnée par rapport aux hommes. 14

Dans la plupart des endroits, les hommes possèdent plus de pouvoir de décision économique, politique, nationale et globale que les femmes. La recherche a montré que la violence est l’élément moteur pour maintenir ce pouvoir. Plus de 90 pourcent  de la violence systématique, persistante et préjudiciable est perpétrée par des hommes. 15

L'interaction profonde entre le sexe, le pouvoir et la violence est beaucoup trop complexe pour bien étaler dans ce guide. Cependant, la compréhension, fondamentalement du fait que la violence poursuit le pouvoir dans un contexte social, est une composante pour pouvoir y répondre convenablement à partir d'un point de vue personnel et programmatique. Il est important de reconnaître que les hommes et les garçons aussi sont victimes de violence, dont l'impact peut être dévastateur pour les individus et les groupes.  Cependant, en raison de l'impact inégal de la violence sexiste sur les femmes et les filles et la nature de ce guide, nous mettrons l'accent sur les femelles.

Footnotes: 

14 . "A/RES/48/104. Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women"(1993). Retrieved from http://www.un.org/documents/ga/res/48/a48r104.htm

15 . Kimmel, M.S. (2002). Gender Symmetry in Domestic Violence: A Substantive and Methodological Research Review. Violence Against Women, 8, 1332-1363. Retrieved from http://www.ncjrs.gov/App/Publications/abstract.aspx?ID=198004

Roots Of Power, Gender And Violence | Women Win Guides

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

Roots Of Power, Gender And Violence

Read this in:

According to the U.N. Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women (1993), “violence against women is a manifestation of historically unequal power relations between men and women, which has led to domination over and discrimination against women by men and to the prevention of the full advancement of women, and that violence against women is one of the crucial social mechanisms by which women are forced into a subordinate position compared with men. 14

In most places, men possess more economic, political, domestic, and overall decision making power than women. Research has shown that violence is instrumental in maintaining control of that power. More than 90 percent of "systematic, persistent, and injurious" violence is perpetrated by men. 15

The deep interplay of gender, power and violence is far too complex to adequately unpack in this guide. However, understanding, on a basic level, the fact that violence follows power in a social context, is a building block to being able to adequately address it from a personal and programmatic perspective. It is important to recognise that men and boys also experience violence, the impact of which can be devastating to individuals and groups. However, because of the uneven impact of gender-based violence on women and girls and the nature of this guide, our focus will be on females.  


14 . "A/RES/48/104. Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women"(1993). Retrieved from

15 . Kimmel, M.S. (2002). Gender Symmetry in Domestic Violence: A Substantive and Methodological Research Review. Violence Against Women, 8, 1332-1363. Retrieved from