Les termes

Read this in:

Afin d'avoir une conversation au sujet de toute question, toutes les parties doivent parler le même langage commun. Ci-dessous une décomposition des mots utilisés dans ce guide. Quand vous participez à la conversation sur cette plateforme, cela va devenir notre ligne de conduite collective. Autant que possible, ces définitions ont été extraites des sources des Nations Unies, pour assurer l'applicabilité universelle et la légalité. Si vous avez des commentaires sur les définitions, s'il vous plaît, soyez sûr de les partager sur cette page.

L’abus: c'est le caractère systématique des comportements qui sont utilisés pour acquérir et / ou maintenir le contrôle et le pouvoir sur l'autre dans une relation. 16

L’émancipation: les individus, pendant le processus pour contrôler leur vie, poursuivre leurs propres objectifs, vivre selon leurs propres valeurs, développer l'autonomie, et être capable de faire des choix, de traduire ces choix en actions, et l'influence - à la fois individuellement et collectivement - les décisions qui affectent leur vie. 17

La fémicide:  c’est la phase extrême d'un continuum de terreur anti-féminine qui comprend une grande variété de violence verbale et physique, comme le viol, la torture, l'esclavage sexuel (en particulier dans la prostitution), l’inceste et abus sexuels extra-familiaux des enfants, l’agression physique et émotionnelle, le harcèlement sexuel (au téléphone, dans les rues, au bureau, et dans la salle de classe), les mutilations génitales, la psychochirurgie et la privation de nourriture aux femmes dans certaines cultures. Chaque fois que ces formes de terrorisme causent la mort, elles deviennent des féminicides. 18

Le sexe: se réfère aux attributs sociaux et aux possibilités liées au fait d'être mâle et femelle et les relations entre les hommes et les femmes, les filles et les garçons, ainsi que les relations entre les femmes et celles entre les hommes. Ces attributs, ces opportunités et ces relations sont socialement tissés et sont appris grâce au processus de socialisation. Ils sont le contexte / heure spécifiques et changeantes. Le genre détermine ce qui est attendu, permis et valorisé chez une femme ou un homme dans un contexte donné. 19

La discrimination entre les sexes: toute distinction, exclusion ou restriction faite sur la base du sexe qui a pour effet ou pour but de compromettre ou de détruire la reconnaissance, la jouissance ou l'exercice soit par les femmes, soit par les hommes, indépendamment de leur statut matrimonial, sur la base de l'égalité des hommes et des femmes, des droits de l'homme et des libertés fondamentales dans le domaine politique, économique, social, culturel et civil ou dans tout autre. 20

L’égalité des sexes: indique que les femmes et les hommes aient des conditions égales pour jouir pleinement de leurs droits humains et contribuer au développement économique, social, culturel et politique en bénéficier. L'égalité des sexes est la valorisation égalitaire par la société des similarités et des différences entre les hommes et les femmes, et des rôles qu'ils jouent. Il est basé sur le principe que les femmes et les hommes sont partenaires à part entière dans leur foyer, leur communauté et leur société. L'égalité des sexes commence avec la valorisation de l'égalité des filles et des garçons. 21

Les rôles des sexes: sont un ensemble de normes sociales et comportementales qui sont considérées comme socialement appropriées pour les personnes d'un sexe donné dans le contexte d'une culture donnée, qui diffèrent largement entre les cultures et dans le temps. 22

La violence sexiste: est tout acte qui entraîne ou est susceptible de causer un dommage physique, sexuelle ou psychologique ou de la souffrance aux femmes, y compris les menaces de tels actes, la contrainte ou la privation arbitraire de liberté, tant dans la vie publique que dans la vie privée. Cela comprend, mais n'est pas limité aux actes de violence physique, sexuelle et psychologique dans la famille, la communauté, ou perpétrés ou tolérés par l'État, partout où c’est le cas.  Ces actes comprennent: l’agression par le conjoint, les abus sexuels, y compris ceux infligés aux enfants de sexe féminin; la violence liée à la dot, le viol, y compris le viol conjugal; les mutilations génitales féminines / excision et autres pratiques traditionnelles préjudiciables aux femmes; violence non conjugale, la violence sexuelle liée à l'exploitation; le harcèlement sexuel et l’intimidation au travail, à l'école et ailleurs;  la traite des femmes et la prostitution forcée. En 1995, l'ONU a élargi la définition pour y inclure: les violations des droits des femmes dans les situations de conflit armé, y compris le viol systématique, l'esclavage sexuel et la grossesse forcée, la stérilisation forcée, l'avortement forcé,  l'utilisation de contraceptifs sous la force où la contrainte, la sélection prénatale du sexe et l'infanticide des filles. Il a également reconnu la vulnérabilité particulière des femmes appartenant à des minorités: les personnes âgées et les personnes déplacées; les autochtones, les communautés de refugiés et d’immigrants; les femmes vivant dans les zones rurales défavorisées ou éloignées, ou en détention.

Les  droits de l'homme: ce sont les droits et libertés fondamentaux que tous les gens ont sans distinction de nationalité, de sexe, d'origine nationale ou ethnique, da race, de religion, de langue ou de toute autre situation. Ces droits comprennent les droits civils et politiques, tels que le droit à la vie, la liberté et à la liberté d'expression et les droits sociaux, culturels et économiques, y compris le droit de participer à la culture, le droit à l'alimentation, le droit de travailler, jouer et recevoir une l'éducation. Les droits humains sont protégés et respectés par les lois et traités internationaux et nationaux. 23

Infanticide: c’est la mise à mort du nouveau-né avec le consentement de la mère, la famille ou la communauté. 24

 Le test de la PPE: c’est un acronyme pour la prophylaxie post-exposition, un régime de médicaments antirétroviraux qu’on croit peuvent réduire le risque d'infection après des événements avec un risque élevé d'exposition au VIH, y compris les rapports vaginaux ou anaux volontaires et le viol. Le test est plus efficace si administré la première heure de l’infection,  mais pas plus de 72 heures. 25

L’auteur: c’est une personne qui commet ou permet sciemment de mauvais traitements ou un crime contre une autre personne ou un groupe.

La pauvreté: c’est l'absence totale d'opportunités, accompagnée par un niveau élevé de malnutrition, la faim, l'analphabétisme, le manque d'éducation, les maladies physiques et mentales, l'instabilité émotionnelle et sociale, le malheur, la tristesse et le désespoir pour l'avenir. La pauvreté est également caractérisée par une pénurie chronique de la participation économique, sociale et politique, reléguant les individus à l'exclusion en tant qu'êtres sociaux, empêchant l'accès au développement économique et social et limitant ainsi leur développement culturel. 26

La puissance: c'est la possession de contrôle, d'autorité ou d'influence sur les autres, la capacité d’agir ou de produire un effet; l'efficacité mentale ou morale; le contrôle politique ou l'influence. 27

Le viol: tout contact sous la force ou la contrainte génital ou la pénétration sexuelle.

L’harcèlement sexuel: tel comportement déterminé sexuellement indésirable comme le contact physique et les avances, des remarques à connotation sexuelle, les images de pornographie et les demandes sexuelles, que ce soit par des paroles ou des actions. Une telle conduite peut être humiliante et peut constituer un problème de santé et de sécurité, elle est discriminatoire lorsque la femme a des motifs raisonnables de croire que son refus la désavantagerait par rapport à son emploi, y compris le recrutement ou de promotion, ou quand il crée un environnement de travail hostile. 28

Le stéréotype: ce sont les croyances sur les caractéristiques, les traits, et les domaines d’activité qui sont jugés appropriés pour les hommes et les femmes. 29

Le survivant(e): c’est celui qui vit par l'affliction, la violence, de harcèlement ou l'abus.

Le viol systématique: c'est une tactique brutale utilisée en temps de guerre pour terroriser les femmes en les agressant sexuellement. Il a également été utilisé comme un moyen d'effectuer le nettoyage ethnique en dégradant et démoralisant le groupe ethnique persécuté. Selon le droit international, le viol systématique a été déclaré un crime contre l'humanité ainsi que d'un crime de guerre. Il est également l'un des critères utilisés pour définir le génocide. 30

La violence: c’est l'utilisation intentionnelle de la force physique ou du pouvoir, réelle ou appréhendée, contre soi-même, une autre personne ou contre un groupe ou une communauté qui soit entraîne ou risque fortement d'entraîner un traumatisme, la mort, des dommages psychologiques, le sous-développement, ou la privation. 31

Footnotes: 

16 . http://www.domesticabuseproject.org/

17 . http://www.ifad.org/gender/glossary.htm

18 . Caputi, J. & Russell, D. E. H. (1992). Femicide: Sexist Terrorism against Women. In Femicide: The Politics of Woman-Killing. Edited by Jane Caputi and Diana E.H. Russell. Twayne Publishers: New York

19 . UN Women (n.d.) Gender, In Concepts and definitions. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/conceptsandefinitions.htm

20 . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/

21 . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/conceptsandefinitions.htm

22 . http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_roles

23 . Amnesty International (n.d.) Human rights basics. Retrieved from www.amnestyusa.org

24 . Infanticide (n.d.) In The Free Dictionary. Retrieved from http://encyclopedia2.thefreedictionary.com/Infanticide+(humans)

25 . Post exposure prophylaxis (n.d.). In Wikipediahttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-exposure_prophylaxis

26 . Uend Poverty (n.d.). UN Chronicle. Retrieved from http://www.uend.org/blog/2010/01/11/poverty-potential-definitions/

27 . Power (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary (11th ed.) Retrieved from  http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/power

28 . UNDAW (n.d.). General recommendations made by the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/recommendations/recomm.htm

29 . Jing, W. (n.d.) Gender Stereotypes. Retrieved from http://guilfordjournals.com/doi/abs/10.1521/soco.2015.33.4.1?journalCode=soco

30 . Helium (n.d.). What is systematic rape? Retrieved from http://www.crimesofwar.org/a-z-guide/sexual-violence-systematic-rape/

31 . World Health Organisation (n.d.). Violence. Retrieved from http://www.who.int/topics/violence/en/

Terms | Women Win Guides

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

Read this in:

In order to have a conversation about any issue, all parties must agree on a common language. Below is a breakdown of words used throughout this guide. When participating in conversation on this platform, this will become our collective baseline. Whenever possible, these definitions have been extracted from United Nations sources, to ensure universal applicability and legal agreement.

If you have comments about definitions, please be sure to share them on this page.

Abuse: is the systematic pattern of behaviours in a relationship that are used to gain and/or maintain control and power over another. 16

Empowerment: is the process of people taking control over their lives, pursuing their own goals, living according to their own values, developing self-reliance, and being able to make choices, transform those choices into actions, and influence – both individually and collectively - the decisions that affect their lives. 17

Femicide: is on the extreme end of a continuum of anti-female terror that includes a wide variety of verbal and physical abuse, such as rape, torture, sexual slavery (particularly in prostitution), incestuous and extra-familial child sexual abuse, physical and emotional battery, sexual harassment (on the phone, in the streets, at the office, and in the classroom), genital mutilation, psychosurgery and denial of food to women in some cultures. Whenever these forms of terrorism result in death, they become femicides. 18

Gender: refers to the social attributes and opportunities associated with being male and female and the relationships between women and men and girls and boys, as well as the relations between women and those between men. These attributes, opportunities and relationships are socially constructed and are learned through socialization processes. They are context/time-specific and changeable. Gender determines what is expected, allowed and valued in a women or a man in a given context. 19

Gender Discrimination: is any distinction, exclusion or restriction made on the basis of sex which has the effect or purpose of impairing or nullifying the recognition, enjoyment or exercise by either men women, irrespective of their marital status, on a basis of equality of men and women, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural, civil or any other field. 20

Gender Equality: indicates that women and men have equal conditions for realizing their full human rights and for contributing to, and benefiting from, economic, social, cultural and political development.Gender equality is therefore the equal valuing by society of the similarities and the differences of men and women, and the roles they play. It is based on women and men being full partners in their home, their community and their society. Gender equality starts with equal valuing of girls and boys. 21

Gender Roles: are a set of social and behavioural norms that are considered to be socially appropriate for individuals of a specific sex in the context of a specific culture, which differ widely between cultures and over time. 22

Gender-based Violence: is any act that results in, or is likely to result in, physical, sexual or psychological harm or suffering to women, including threats of such acts, coercion or arbitrary deprivations of liberty, whether occurring in public or in private life. This encompasses, but is not limited to, acts of physical, sexual, and psychological violence in the family, community, or perpetrated or condoned by the State, wherever it occurs. These acts include: spousal battery; sexual abuse, including of female children; dowry-related violence; rape, including marital rape; female genital mutilation/cutting and other traditional practices harmful to women; non-spousal violence; sexual violence related to exploitation; sexual harassment and intimidation at work, in school and elsewhere; trafficking in women; and forced prostitution. In 1995, the U.N. expanded the definition to include: violations of the rights of women in situations of armed conflict, including systematic rape, sexual slavery and forced pregnancy; forced sterilization, forced abortion, coerced or forced use of contraceptives; prenatal sex selection and female infanticide. It further recognised the particular vulnerabilities of women belonging to minorities: the elderly and the displaced; indigenous, refugee and migrant communities; women living in impoverished rural or remote areas, or in detention.

Human Rights: are basic rights and freedoms that all people are entitled to regardless of nationality, sex, national or ethnic origin, race, religion, language, or other status. These entitlements include civil and political rights, such as the right to life, liberty and freedom of expression; and social, cultural and economic rights including the right to participate in culture, the right to food, the right to work, play and receive an education. Human rights are protected and upheld by international and national laws and treaties. 23

Infanticide: is the putting to death of the newborn with the consent of the parent, family or community. 24

PEP Test: is an acronym for post exposure prophylaxis, a course of antiretroviral drugs which is thought to reduce the risk of of infection after events with high risk of exposure to HIV, including voluntary vaginal or anal intercourse and rape.PEP test is most effective if administered within an hour of infection, but no longer than 72 hours. 25

Perpetrator: is a person who commits or knowingly allows maltreatment or a crime against another person or group.

Poverty: is the total absence of opportunities, accompanied by high levels of undernourishment, hunger, illiteracy, lack of education, physical and mental ailments, emotional and social instability, unhappiness, sorrow and hopelessness for the future. Poverty is also characterized by a chronic shortage of economic, social and political participation, relegating individuals to exclusion as social beings, preventing access to the benefits of economic and social development and thereby limiting their cultural development. 26

Power: is possession of control, authority or influence over others; the ability to act or produce an effect; mental or moral efficacy; political control or influence. 27

Rape: is any forced or coerced genital contact or sexual penetration.

Sexual Harassment: such unwelcome sexually determined behaviour as physical contact and advances, sexually coloured remarks, showing pornography and sexual demands, whether by words or actions. Such conduct can be humiliating and may constitute a health and safety problem; it is discriminatory when the woman has reasonable ground to believe that her objection would disadvantage her in connection with her employment, including recruitment or promotion, or when it creates a hostile working environment. 28

Stereotype: are beliefs held about characteristics, traits, and activity-domains that are deemed appropriate for men and women. 29

Survivor: is one who lives through affliction, violence, harassment or abuse.

Systematic Rape: is a brutal tactic used in times of war to terrorize women by sexually assaulting them. It has also been used as a means to perform ethnic cleansing by degrading and demoralizing the persecuted ethnic group. According to international law, systematic rape has been declared a crime against humanity as well as a war crime. It is also one of the criteria used to identify genocide. 30

Violence: is the intentional use of physical force or power, threatened or actual, against oneself, another person, or against a group or community that either results in or has a high likelihood of resulting in injury, death, psychological harm, underdevelopment, or deprivation. 31


16 . http://www.domesticabuseproject.org/

17 . http://www.ifad.org/gender/glossary.htm

18 . Caputi, J. & Russell, D. E. H. (1992). Femicide: Sexist Terrorism against Women. In Femicide: The Politics of Woman-Killing. Edited by Jane Caputi and Diana E.H. Russell. Twayne Publishers: New York

19 . UN Women (n.d.) Gender, In Concepts and definitions. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/conceptsandefinitions.htm

20 . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/

21 . http://www.un.org/womenwatch/osagi/conceptsandefinitions.htm

22 . http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_roles

23 . Amnesty International (n.d.) Human rights basics. Retrieved from www.amnestyusa.org

24 . Infanticide (n.d.) In The Free Dictionary. Retrieved from http://encyclopedia2.thefreedictionary.com/Infanticide+(humans)

25 . Post exposure prophylaxis (n.d.). In Wikipediahttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-exposure_prophylaxis

26 . Uend Poverty (n.d.). UN Chronicle. Retrieved from http://www.uend.org/blog/2010/01/11/poverty-potential-definitions/

27 . Power (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary (11th ed.) Retrieved from  http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/power

28 . UNDAW (n.d.). General recommendations made by the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Retrieved from http://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/recommendations/recomm.htm

29 . Jing, W. (n.d.) Gender Stereotypes. Retrieved from http://guilfordjournals.com/doi/abs/10.1521/soco.2015.33.4.1?journalCode=soco

30 . Helium (n.d.). What is systematic rape? Retrieved from http://www.crimesofwar.org/a-z-guide/sexual-violence-systematic-rape/

31 . World Health Organisation (n.d.). Violence. Retrieved from http://www.who.int/topics/violence/en/