Lâ??homophobie dans les programmes sportifs

L'homophobie est l'un des facteurs qui contribue à l’impact global de l'abus dans le sport avec d’autres formes de discrimination, l’homophobie peut faire du sport une activité jugée dangereuse pour de nombreux enfants. Les gens dans toutes les régions du monde sont victimes de la violence, de l’harcèlement, de la discrimination, de l'exclusion, de la stigmatisation et des préjugés à cause de leur orientation sexuelle ou de leur identité de genre.66

Les filles peuvent être victimes de violence fondée sur leur orientation sexuelle. Si une fille est lesbienne ou si elle est perçue comme une lesbienne. Dans certaines communautés, la force physique associée à une femme sportive est considérée déviante et en quelque sorte associée à l'homosexualité. Partout dans le monde, les athlètes homosexuels gardent leur identité sexuelle comme un secret, par peur de l'exclusion sociale de l'équipe, la discrimination de la part de leur pairs et des leurs entraîneurs, d’un manque d'opportunités ou par peur de violence physique ou sexuelle. Dans plusieurs pays, les actes homosexuels sont encore condamnables par la loi.

Seulement il y a trois ans, dans le village de Kwathema, Eudy Similane a été retrouvé partiellement habillée, violée en bande, battue et poignardée. Eudy a joué au football pour l'équipe nationale sud-africaine Banyana Banyana et le club de football Spring Home Sweepers. Les gens qui connaissaient Eudy se souviennent d’elle comme étant talentueuse, passionnée et modeste. Elle luttait de façon vorace pour les droits de la personne et l'une des premières femmes à vivre ouvertement en tant que lesbienne à Kwathema. 68

Dans une perspective de conception du programme, tous les membres du personnel ainsi que les participants dans un contexte sportif ont l'obligation de protéger les filles contre cela et toute autre forme de violence ou d'abus, indépendamment de leur position éthique. Les questions de l'homophobie doit être abordées ouvertement et sans compromis, tout comme les autres formes de violence sexiste.

L’abus sexuel parmi les filles et les femmes handicapées

Les filles et les femmes handicapées sont plus exposées à un plus grand risque d’être victime d’abus sexuel par le fait d’être des femmes et pire encore d’être handicapées. «Comparativement aux femmes non handicapées, les jeunes filles et les femmes handicapées sont plus susceptibles de signaler des avoir été victime des expériences les plus intenses de l'abus, y compris la combinaison de multiples incidents, des auteurs multiples, et une plus longue durée". 69

Une étude épidémiologique menée par Sullivan & Knutson en 200, a révélé un taux de 9 pour cent de la maltraitance des enfants sans handicap par rapport à un taux de 31 pour cent des enfants handicapés. Ils ont également conclu que les enfants handicapés ont été de 3,4 pour cent plus susceptibles d'être maltraités. 70

Les filles et les femmes handicapées sont-elles plus vulnérables à la violence sexuelle et sexiste?

  • Elles peuvent Ă©prouver de la difficultĂ© Ă  demander de l'aide, Ă  protester ou Ă  sortir
  • Elles peuvent ĂŞtre moins au courant des lois qui les protègent. Il se peut aussi qu’elles aient plus difficilement accès Ă  de l'information.
  • Les femmes et les filles handicapĂ©es peuvent avoir des problèmes de mobilitĂ© qui les rend vulnĂ©rables Ă  la violence sexiste incapables de fuir leurs auteurs.
  • Les femmes et les filles avec des dĂ©ficiences cognitivesou atteintes des troubles de la communication peuvent Ă©prouver de la difficultĂ© Ă  comprendre et signaler la violence sexiste. 71

Les filles et les femmes handicapées ont besoin de savoir quoi faire pour prévenir la violence et les abus. L'éducation est nécessaire pour créer une plus grande prise de conscience de la violence sexiste. Faire du sport peut renforcer la confiance en soi en aidant les filles handicapées à reconnaître les choses qui vont la satisfaire ou ce qu'elle aime à propos d’elle-même.

Footnotes: 

66 . UNICEF report on Protecting Children from Violence in Sport prepared by the Innocenti Center, p 14

67 . “Teenage lesbian is latest victim of 'corrective rape' in South Africa” at  http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/may/09/lesbian-corrective-rape-sout...

68 . “Raped and killed for being a lesbian: South Africa ignores 'corrective' attacks” at http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/mar/12/eudy-simelane-corrective-rap...

69 . “Preventing Violence against Women and Girls with Disabilities”, April 2011, Pacific Rim International Conference on Disabilities. Retrieved from http://wwda.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Think-Piece_WWD.pdf

70 . Sullivan, P. & Knutson, J. (2000). Maltreatment and disabilities: A population-based epidemiological study. Child Abuse & Neglect, 24 (10), 1257-1273.

71 . Retrieved from www.genderlinks.org.za/attachment.php?aa_id=10984

Homophobia In Sport Programmes | Women Win Guides

Error

The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.

Homophobia In Sport Programmes

Read this in:

Corrective Rape

In 2008 a report by South Africa’s Human Rights Commission expressed alarm at the “growing phenomenon of ‘corrective’ rape” in schools across the country, with young boys believing that lesbian girls need to be raped in order to ‘correct’ their sexual orientation. 'Corrective rape' has two dimensions, violence against women and homophobia. Campaigners say that 31 lesbians have been killed because of their sexuality in the past decade and more than 10 lesbians a week are raped or gang raped in Cape Town alone. 67

Homophobia is one of the factors that contributes to the overall toll of abuse in sport, and together with other forms of discrimination, it can make sport an unsafe activity for many children. People in all regions of the world experience violence, harassment, discrimination, exclusion, stigmatization and prejudice because of their sexual orientation or gender identity. 66

Girls can experience violence based on their sexual orientation, whether a girl is a lesbian or is perceived to be. In some communities, the physical strength associated with an athletic female is considered gender deviant and somehow associated with homosexuality. All over the world, gay athletes keep their sexual identity a secret; for fear that disclosure will result in social exclusion from the team, discrimination by peers and coaches, loss of opportunities or instances of physical or sexual violence. In a handful of countries, homosexual acts are still punishable by law.

Only 3 years ago, in the township of Kwathema, Eudy Similane was found partially clothed, gang-raped, beaten and stabbed. Eudy played football for the South African national team Banyana Banyana and Springs Home Sweepers F.C. Those who knew her remembered her as talented, passionate and humble. She was a “voracious equality rights campaigner” and one of the first women to live openly as a lesbian in Kwathema. 68

From a programme design perspective, all staff and participants in a sport context have an obligation to protect girls from this, and any other, violence or abuse, regardless of their ethical position. Issues of homophobia must be addressed openly and uncompromisingly, as with any other form of GBV. 

Sexual Abuse among Girls and Women with Disabilities

Girls and women with disabilities are exposed to a greater risk of physical and sexual abuse through their status as women and worse, through their status as persons with disabilities. “Compared to women without disabilities, girls and women with disabilities were more likely to report more intense experiences of abuse, including the combination of multiple incidents, multiple perpetrators, and longer duration”. 69

An epidemiological study carried out by Sullivan & Knutson in 200, found a 9% rate of maltreatment for children without disabilities vs. 31% rate for children with disabilities. They also deduced that children with disabilities were 3.4% more likely to be abused. 70

Are girls and women with disabilities more susceptible to GBV?

  • They may find it difficult to call for help, protest or get away
  • They may be less conscious of the laws that protect them and have less access to information.
  • Women and girls with disabilities can have mobility issues which renders them susceptible to GBV and unable to flee perpetrators.
  • Women and girls with cognitive and communication impairments may find it hard to process and report GBV. 71

Girls and women with disabilities need to know what to do to prevent violence and abuse from happening to them. Education is needed to create a greater awareness of GBV. Sport can reinforce positive self-esteem by helping a girl with a disability recognise the things that make her feel good or what she likes about herself.


66 . UNICEF report on Protecting Children from Violence in Sport prepared by the Innocenti Center, p 14

67 . “Teenage lesbian is latest victim of 'corrective rape' in South Africa” at  http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/may/09/lesbian-corrective-rape-sout...

68 . “Raped and killed for being a lesbian: South Africa ignores 'corrective' attacks” at http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/mar/12/eudy-simelane-corrective-rap...

69 . “Preventing Violence against Women and Girls with Disabilities”, April 2011, Pacific Rim International Conference on Disabilities. Retrieved from http://wwda.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Think-Piece_WWD.pdf

70 . Sullivan, P. & Knutson, J. (2000). Maltreatment and disabilities: A population-based epidemiological study. Child Abuse & Neglect, 24 (10), 1257-1273.

71 . Retrieved from www.genderlinks.org.za/attachment.php?aa_id=10984